Online phylogenetics seminar 2/5 9 AM PST: Fiona Jordan "Testing hypotheses about cultural evolution"

From phyloseminar.org home. Online phylogenetics seminar 2/5: Fiona Jordan “Testing hypotheses about cultural evolution”

From the website:
Anthropologists had a name for the non-independence-of-species-problem way back in the 1880s. Solving “Galton’s Problem”, and the promise of comparative methods for testing hypotheses about cultural adaptation and correlated evolution was a major catalyst for the field of cultural phylogenetics. In this talk I will show how linguistic, cultural, and archaeological data is used in comparative phylogenetic analyses. The “treasure trove of anthropology” – our vast ethnographic record of cultures – is now being put to good use answering questions about cross-cultural similarities and differences in human social and cultural norms in a rigorous evolutionary framework.

West Coast USA:
09:00 (09:00 AM) on Tuesday, February 05

East Coast USA:
12:00 (12:00 PM) on Tuesday, February 05

UK:
17:00 (05:00 PM) on Tuesday, February 05

France:
18:00 (06:00 PM) on Tuesday, February 05

Japan:
02:00 (02:00 AM) on Wednesday, February 06

New Zealand:
06:00 (06:00 AM) on Wednesday, February 06

Author: Jonathan Eisen

I am an evolutionary biologist and a Professor at U. C. Davis. (see my lab site here). My research focuses on the origin of novelty (how new processes and functions originate). To study this I focus on sequencing and analyzing genomes of organisms, especially microbes and using phylogenomic analysis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s