Next phyloseminar: Ed Delong on Carl Woese 5/13

Next talk on http://phyloseminar.org

"How Carl Woese transformed the field of microbial ecology"
Ed DeLong (MIT)

The challenges of dissecting naturally occurring microbial
assemblages, with respect to their community composition, interspecies
interactions, functional attributes, and activities, are numerous and
daunting. For many years, these challenges impeded our understanding
of the properties and dynamics of microbial communities, and thus
hindered development of the field of microbial ecology. Enter Carl
Woese: the theory and application of molecular phylogenetics and
genomics in studies of microbial evolution and ecology can be traced
directly to Woese and one of his primary collaborators, Norman Pace.
This lecture will trace the logic and roots of the application of
molecular phylogenetics and genomics to the study of microbial
ecology, through a historical review and examination of its past and
current applications.

West Coast USA: 10:00 (10:00 AM) on Monday, May 13
East Coast USA: 13:00 (01:00 PM) on Monday, May 13
UK: 18:00 (06:00 PM) on Monday, May 13
France: 19:00 (07:00 PM) on Monday, May 13
Japan: 02:00 (02:00 AM) on Tuesday, May 14
New Zealand: 05:00 (05:00 AM) on Tuesday, May 14

Author: Jonathan Eisen

I am an evolutionary biologist and a Professor at U. C. Davis. (see my lab site here). My research focuses on the origin of novelty (how new processes and functions originate). To study this I focus on sequencing and analyzing genomes of organisms, especially microbes and using phylogenomic analysis

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s