Bethesda, MD. November 23, 2015.
Pubmed is to ease de-collaboration (when one stops working with a collaborator) woes by tweaking its ‘Collaboration Status’ function – allowing ex-collaborators to disappear from view without users removing them as a colleague.
The literature network will trial the new collaborator tool in the United States, with plans to roll out the changes worldwide after receiving feedback.
David Lippmann, product manager for Pubmed, said in a statement: “Starting today, we are testing tools to help researchers manage how they interact with their former collaborators on Pubmed after their collaboration has ended. When researchers change their collaboration status to indicate they are no longer in a collaboration, they will be prompted to try these tools.
“The work is part of our ongoing effort to develop resources for scholars who may be going through difficult moments in their lives. We hope these tools will help people end collaborations on Pubmed with greater ease, comfort and sense of control.”
The tools will allow users to limit the papers, data sets or status updates that an ex-collaborator will see. Without having to de-collaborate or block a former research partner, Pubmed will also make sure their name and ORCID ID do not appear in the site’s paper feed.
Their name will not be suggested either when users tag researchers in papers.
Users will also be able to edit who can see past papers with a former collaborator and untag from papers written with that person.